I Spy, with my Black & Silver Eye

DSC_0211Y  

Hey guys, welcome to our first Makeup Beauty post!

Today, I am going to be talking about a new eyeshadow look I created to match my new silver sequined Lispy London  peplum top.

When I started my makeup, I had no clue as to what colours I planned to use. As I always go for the pinky nude and bronzy colours, I knew I wanted to incorporate black eyeshadow on my eye to create a smokey look.

This was my first purchase of buying a silver top, so I wanted to make sure that if I didn’t pull it off well, then atleast my hair and makeup would be on point!

  • After preping my skin, I applied an Estee Lauder concealer on the dark areas of my face as well as any blemishes which showed up. I used my blending sponge and dabbed lightly.
  • For Foundation, I use MAC, Studio Fix, as it has a velvet feel to it and the right coverage for me and my skin type. Once applying it over my face, I again used my blending sponge to mix.

DSC_0213

As a model, I understand that Makeup Artists begin with the eyes and then fill in the rest of the face after. However, I cannot work on my eyes until my skin is evened out and it takes time for my foundation to set. Therefore, I prep, conceal and ‘foundate’ my skin beforehand!

  • The only palette I use on my eyes is the Urban Decay, Naked Palatte 2 as it has all the colours you need!! (Or I need)
  • To create this look, I used 8 out of the 12 colours on the palette but the main colours were Verve for the inner silver shadow, Snakebite which is the brown colour acting as a base for my black shadow called Blackout.
  • After a lot of blending, eye liner and Lilly Lashes, my eyes were complete!
  • I wiped away the excess eyeshadow underneath my eyes and used my concealer to draw a triangular shape under my lid, upto my cheek bones. This creates a highlight and glowing effect.
  • I finished off my makeup look by contouring my face using the Sleek Contouring Palette which is AMAZING and an item that travels everywhere with me.
  • For blush, I used MAC, Orgasmn and gently brushed it on the apple of my cheeks, ontop of my Sleek highlighter.
  • My lips were filled in with a brown lip-liner from Primark and a nude lipstick called Honey Love  by MAC Cosmetics.  I don’t normally wear lip gloss, but for this look I decided to add a little to my bottom lip, giving it a slight thickness. For this I used my Sally Hanson, Lip Inflation lip gloss, that tingles when applying and is said to plump up your lips!
  • To keep it all in place, I used the MAC – Prep + Prime Fix, for a flawless finish!

DSC_0170

There you have it! My tried, tested and approved silver and black eyeshadow look! Definitely one that I will do again.

If you like the look, I will post a video tutorial which you will be able to copy and create the look yourself for a night out or evening dinner!

“Try, try, try, and keep on trying is the rule that must be followed to become an expert in anything” –  W. Clement Stone

Leave a Reply

