Why you shouldn’t stick to Fiction

Ugly by Constance Briscoe

Ugly by Constance Briscoe

Y – 

I have always been into non-fiction novels rather than fictional novels which is weird as I am a very creative person. When I was younger I loved to read about unicorns, wizards, sleepover clubs, mermaids etc. However, as I grew older I became fascinated with real life stories covering topics of abuse, violence or a character out of the ordinary. (Nothing spooky or horror related though!)

Books like A child called It, by David Pelzer and 12 years a slave, ’by Solomon Northup are my top favourite novels as they teach me something. They teach me about how the world can be and that unfortunately not everything is perfect. I think the reason to why I am so absorbed in these particular stories is because there are so many emotions involved. Every line, every chapter and every flick of the page keeps you hooked with thoughts of, ‘is this person going to survive,’ ‘how will they survive?’ ‘What will happen next to them?’ ‘How can a human be treated like this?’ ‘Does this treatment still happen?’ The questions go on and on and next you’ll be researching and even signing petitions!

At the moment, my current bedtime story is Ugly by Constance Briscoe. Once I began reading the Prologue, I was excited and anxious about what was to come next. When a story starts at the beginning of the child’s life, you know there will be some form of attachment with that character and therefore with the whole book.

The part that I am up to is where Constance, otherwise known as Claire or Clear in the novel, is battered by her mother for wetting the bed. After experts tried everything to cure the little girl, she was unable to control wetting herself and therefore was beaten every night and pulled by her legs until her sheets were clean through to the morning.
You may be thinking ‘woah, this is extreme’ and why would I want to read something like this!? But like I said, stories like these have an emotional effect on us and question things which have happened in the past or currently happening now in the world.

For my dissertation, I wrote about The Life and Death of Harriett Frean by May Sinclair. Although this narrative was fictional, there were many references linking to the works of psychoanalyst, Sigmund Freud. It chronologically took us from the birth of a child to her mental illness, eventually leading to her death. Of course the story was much deeper than that, but you’ll have to read my dissertation if you want to find out more! 😛

One other fictional narrative I enjoyed reading and that made me cry was a romance novel named Where Rainbows End, by Cecilia Ahern. There was also a film released in 2015 based on the novel called Love Rosie and might I just say, it was absolutely crap and did no justice to Ahern’s writing!
I read the 578 paged book whilst travelling to Wales for a family trip. It takes us to the lives of two young best friends who separate, overcome various obstacles as they grow, and eventually end up together again madly in-love. (Sorry to kill it for you if you planned to read the book!) The reason to why I liked this novel so much was because it was written in a letter and email format which completely transformed the novel. Both characters went on a journey of not just knowing each other but finding each other. It was a “listen to your heart” novel as in the end, no matter who came in and out of their lives, true love found a way to go back.

One extreme to another right!!

I wouldn’t describe myself as the typical literature student who has a book in her hand every day. However, there are just some books or genres you know that will have impact on you or that will take you into their world straight away. Therefore, whether or not you are a bookworm, I would really recommend reading one of the few books that I have mentioned. It will truly open up a whole new world for you, one that you will be part of.

DSC_0320

Experience the unknown and open your horizons to the new world you are yet to uncover.

5 thoughts on “Why you shouldn’t stick to Fiction

    • X n Y Style says:

      Yes! Sometimes I feel as though I shouldnt be reading books like these because they’re quite negative and extreme, especially before bed! But they are so gripping that you just can’t put them down lol – Are there any books you would recommend? 🙂

  1. Nitin Makadia says:

    Thanks for sharing …really interesting perspective. Whilst not a reader of novels myself I am always gripped by the real life & fictional stories of people who go through these experiences. There is so much to learn from ‘characters’ who overcome harrowing life events & emerge stronger when so many others would be broken. How do they find the mental strength to endure, survive & eventually grow? And then there are the perpetrators…who are actually victims to their own issues & insecurities but choose to victimise others. This is the alternative perspective of those who can be such a positive influence but lack the personal integrity and positive mindset – how differently would things gave turned out if they themselves had a positive influence in their lives? Powerful stuff!

    • X n Y Style says:

      Great views! The strength they have to have to go through these traumatising experiences and then come out positive shows courage. The fact they are free and can experience life after violence and abuse is itself an achievement for them. However, although people have the ability to make a change, not everyone can because as you said, they cannot escape the black hole that they have either dug themselves or from the traumatised events occurred in their lives! For the people who have overcome their experiences, there will always be a memory which takes them back. For others who cannot overcome their experiences, they are still trapped in their own memory.
      The analysis is deeper than the story itself!

Leave a Reply

